Independent Expenditures

Hijacking Campaign 2010 - Information on Advancing Wisconsin Inc.

Hijacking Campaign 2010

Advancing Wisconsin Inc.

Posted August 4, 2010
Updated: May 15, 2017

Oath Spending

Advancing Wisconsin, Inc. provides grassroots lobbying and advocacy on progressive issues, as well as field and organizing assistance to other progressive organizations for state elections. Their political action committee conducted an extensive door-to-door literature drop and canvassing operation in the Fall 2008 elections in a number of legislative districts as well as for the presidential elections. Most recently the organization did phony issue advocacy in the Spring 2009 nonpartisan elections for state Supreme Court and Superintendent for Public Instruction.

In the Fall 2010 elections, the group targeted senate districts (SD 5, 15, 21, 23 and 31) in the Primary. Post-primary they immediately began to target Assembly District 88 and in October they reported activity in Assembly Districts 5 (an open seat), 57, 68 and 93, all typically targeted districts in Wisconsin.

In mid-October the organization did a mailer in Senate District 5 attacking Republican challenger Leah Vukmir for her votes against supporting small business health insurance.

The group also sponsored a mailing about a week before the November 2 general election accusing Republican candidate for governor Scott Walker of increasing his pay as Milwaukee County executive by $50,000 - though Advancing Wisconsin's math is suspect.  After Walker became county executive in 2002, he pledged to give back $60,000 a year of his salary - and did.  The group claims Walker recently gave himself a $50,000 a year raise because after his 2008 reelection, he reduced the annual amount of pay he would return to the county to $10,000 a year.

In 2008 the organization operated as an ordinary political action committee but in 2010 registered with the Government Accountability Board as a corporation making independent disbursements in the Fall 2010 state elections following the January 2010 U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Citizens United v. FEC .

Advancing Wisconsin dissolved in 2014 according to records filed with the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions. According to an ICANN WHOIS search performed on May 15, 2017 the organization's website is registered to an individual in Los Angeles. The site seems to still maintain some information relevant to Advancing Wisconsin as of 2010 but the main page appears to be little more than an advertising platform.

Hijacking Campaign 2010 - Information on MTI Voters (Madison Teachers Inc)

Hijacking Campaign 2010

MTI Voters (Madison Teachers Inc)

Posted: August 4, 2010
Updated: January 8, 2014

Oath Spending

MTI Voters is the political action committee of the Madison Teachers Inc., a union for Madison area public school teachers. The union endorses and campaigns for pro-public education candidates in the Madison area and financially supports them through its PAC.

In the Fall 2010 elections MTI supported Democrats Tom Barrett for Governor, challenger Trish O'Neil in Assembly District 47, and Janis Ringhand in Assembly District 80, an open seat, and Green Party candidate Ben Manski in Assembly District 77.

Last active election: 2009

Hijacking Campaign 2010 - Information on WEAC PAC

Hijacking Campaign 2010


Posted: June 21, 2010
Updated: January 17, 2014


The Wisconsin Education Association Council (WEAC) represents public school teachers, educational support personnel, technical college employees, and student teachers in Wisconsin. WEAC is among the largest direct contributors candidates for statewide office and the legislature. It also spends substantial sums on independent expenditures and issue ads. WEAC spent over $2 million in the 2008 fall general election and over half a million dollars in the 2009 Supreme Court election. 

WEAC spent nearly $1.6 million on the fall 2010 campaign: Roughly $24,000 on State Senator Spencer Coggs' unsuccessful primary campaign for the Democratic nomination for lieutenant governor and the remainder in support of four Democratic Senate incumbents, all of whom lost but one, Kathleen Vinehout of the 31st Senate District.

Last active election: 2009

Page 4 of 4